Friday, October 4, 2013

10 Questions with Bestselling Author Wayne Thomas Batson



This Author Spotlight
features

Wayne Thomas Batson
author of




This interview is of particular note for me because back in 2006-2007, I spent a great deal of time writing (working on The Go-Kids) at Border's Books near where I lived at the time. I often took breaks to stand up and stretch, get more coffee, and wander through the aisles of the book store, enjoying the volumes on the shelves and exploring new books and new writers.

On one end cap I noticed a series of brightly-colored books with brilliant, fascinating covers. They were written by a guy named Wayne Thomas Batson.



Fast forward six years, and here we are. I have the distinct pleasure of featuring Wayne and his books in this week's author spotlight. I encountered Wayne and his new book GHOST when Wayne did a guest blog on Joe Konrath's blog (which you can read HERE). So, thank you, Joe!

Now, here's Wayne.

Wayne Thomas Batson is the Bestselling author of fourteen adventure novels including the fan favorite Door Within Trilogy, the pirate duo Isle of Swords and Isle of Fire, the 7-book fantasy epic Dark Sea Annals, and a supernatural thriller for adults called GHOST.

A middle school Reading and English teacher for 23 years, Batson loves to challenge—and be challenged by—his students. So, when he began writing stories to supplement the school district’s curriculum, it was his students who taught their teacher a lesson. Batson’s students were so taken by one of the stories that, over a thirteen year span, they pushed him to make it into a full-length novel. That story became The Door Within. Since then, Batson’s students continue to be his frontline editors. Says Batson, “Two things you can count on from middle school students: Intelligence and Honesty. Kids are so much more perceptive than a lot of us ‘Big Folk’ give them credit for. And when something’s not right in the story, they’ll tell you about it in very clear terms.”

With over half a million books in print, Batson believes his books appeal to so many kids and adults because, at a deep level, we all long to do something that matters, and we all dream of another world.


1.How did you get into writing and why do you write?
I got my start by writing stories for my middle school students. I always hoped to be an author one day, and the students’ encouragement pushed me to try. As for why? I guess I write because it’s fulfilling in a way that other endeavors are not. It’s like dark chocolate for the soul. Plus, I feel like God wants me to write. Who am I to second guess the Creator? ;-D

2.What do you like best (or least) about writing?
The initial idea rush is my favorite part of writing. This is when I’ve got a kernel idea for a story and sit down to start plotting the outline, and WHOOOSH!!! It’s like standing in jetwash. The ideas just come streaming in. One leads to the next to the next to the next, and I just hold on for dear life, trying to get them all down without losing any.

3.What is your writing process? IE do you outline? Do you stick to a daily word or page count, write 7 days a week, etc?
I am a bigtime outliner. But once I have the outline, I always have plenty of wiggle room for wild twists. When I’m on a deadline, I divide up the projected word count into daily goals. Then, I just pound away.

4.Who are some other writers you read and admire, regardless of whether they are commercially “successful?”
For Prose: Cornelia Funke (Inkspell, etc.) The woman writes with such artistry and poetic brilliance. For Creativity: Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn & Way of Kings). The guy is just spectacular in Worldbuilding and Character Construction.

5.Should the question mark in the above question be inside or outside the quotes?
Inside.

6.What’s your stance on the Oxford Comma?
I always use it.

7.What is your book GHOST about and how did it come to fruition?
GHOST is a supernatural thriller for readers who like Lee Child’s Jack Reacher and Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden books. John Spector is a special kind of investigator, and he’s on the trail of a killer the FBI gave up on years ago. Both killer and detective are more than meets the eye, and when they meet, the pillars of both worlds will be shaken.

GHOST came about when I finally finished the manuscript and published it on Kindle this summer.

8.What’s your current writing project?
Dreamtreaders is my current project. This is the first of a trilogy with Thomas Nelson/Harper Collins publishing. It’s a wild YA adventure that poses the question: what if having your dreams come true turns out to be your worst nightmare?

9.What book(s) are you currently reading?
The Sky Riders by Christopher Hopper. Very cool epic adventure, fantasy, steampunk, pirate thrill ride.

10.Who or what inspires your writing?
God. Seriously, I almost feel guilty being a writer because I all do is sit there and scoop up all the cool ideas God throws my way.

Finally, is there anything you’d care to add? Please also include where people can read your published stories, buy your book, etc.
You can get all my books on Amazon or CBD with the exception of GHOST
which is an Amazon exclusive. Here’s the website:
Nice to spend some time with you! Never alone.

Thank you, Wayne. It was great to meet you in such a serendipitous and unexpected fashion.

Be sure to check out Wayne's website/blog, and grab a copy of his latest book GHOST at the link below:



3 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete